Review and Moving On (Guitar Lesson)


What are you waiting for? Get your membership now!
Steve Eulberg

Review and Moving On

Steve Eulberg does a quick review of this lesson series and talks about moving on.

Taught by Steve Eulberg in Basic Guitar with Steve Eulberg seriesLength: 12:44Difficulty: 2.0 of 5
Chapter 1: (12:44) Review and Moving On Thus far in the series, Steve has covered a wide range of information. As a musician, it is very important to periodically review past materials. The review process will enable you to retain and understand important concepts. You will probably understand the materials much better the second time around. In addition, reviewing past materials is an excellent way to keep track of your progress.

Here's a quick overview of what Steve has covered so far:

-Parts of the Guitar

-Basic Chords

-Barre Chords

- Strumming Patterns

-Basic Melodies

-Picking Technique

-Intro to Fingerpicking

-How Chords Are Formed

-The Relationship Between Keys and Chords

-Important Tools (string winder, tuner, metronome, etc.)

-Timing, Tempo and Rhythm

If you have any questions concerning these topics, be sure to write in to Steve for some additional help.

Moving to the Next Level

Many members have asked the question, "How do I know when I'm ready to move to the next level?"

You don't have to completely perfect an exercise before moving on to something else. You just have to be feel very comfortable with it. This is where periodic review comes into play. Come back to a song or exercise at a later time once you have spent a few weeks working on new material. Then, attempt to perfect the initial exercise. Record yourself as often as possible to monitor your progress. You don't need fancy recording equipment like Pro Tools. A simple tape recorder will do the trick. Also, utilize the progress bar that is located to the left of each lesson video.

If you are content with what you are working on and it still challenges you, then you might want to stick with what you are working on. On the other hand, if you feel bored and agitated, it's probably to move into more challenging material. Otherwise, you run the risk of going through the motions and playing with no real emotional energy. Playing with emotion and conviction is one of the most important components of any musical performance.

Learning Styles

A. Kinesthetic / Tactile Learners


Kinesthetic learners find it easiest to learn new skills through hands on experience.

B. Auditory Learners

Auditory Learners absorb new information best by listening to oral instructions.

C. Visual Learners

Visual learners are able to master new tasks in the most efficient manner when they are provided with a visual demonstration.

Steve tries to explain all subject material from all three perspectives. However, if you find that another instructor teaches more in line with your learning style, watch his lessons to fill in any gaps.

Proper Mindset for Learning New Things

Always take on the mindset of a beginner as you advance through your guitar training. Remain as open-minded as possible. Also, remain open to self-criticism as well as criticism from peers and teachers. No matter how accomplished you become, you can always learn something new from someone else. The JamPlay instructors watch each others' lessons to become better players and to learn new teaching approaches.

Follow Your Inspiration

Go to what attracts you. If something in Phase 2 or Phase 3 looks interesting, go ahead and check it out. You can still learn a lot from something that's beyond your current level. Although you may not understand everything, it might help you understand the materials that you are currently working on.

Five Things To Do Every Time You Pick Up Your Guitar

1. Tune it.

2. Warm-up with technical exercises. Developing technique is like weight lifting or training for a sport.

3. Work on current lesson materials.

4. Review something you previously worked on. Revisit something recent and something from a long time ago.

5. Play something from memory. Memorization is key to a solid performance. It is always easier to play something that is memorized, because your brain has less to focus on. Instead of focusing your visual attention on a piece of sheet music, your eyes are free to monitor your right and left hand technique.

Recommended Reading

Zen Guitar - written by Philip Toshio Sudo

This book takes a spirtitual, mental awareness approach to playing and learning the guitar. Zen Guitar is highly recommended by Steve as well as other JamPlay staff members. It can be purchased here from Amazon.com.

Video Subtitles / Captions





Supplemental Learning Material

Select

Member Comments about this Lesson

Discussions with our instructors are just one of the many benefits of becoming a member of JamPlay.


drx1drx1 replied on August 13th, 2015

Audio drops at 6:12 - WTH?

georgiaflygeorgiafly replied on June 2nd, 2015

I think your theory will be the key to my success :)

marcel2329marcel2329 replied on May 31st, 2014

Enjoyed the lessons thank you

cutchincutchin replied on May 31st, 2013

Hi Steve, I'm new to Jamplay and really liked your lessons. One question: What happened to "Two Foot Two, Eyes of Blue" you were going to teach after the Circle of Fifths lesson I was looking forward to that but, alas, it never appeared. Thanks for clearing up a lot of questions I had. You're a great teacher.

vassagusvassagus replied on December 15th, 2013

same here!.

cutchincutchin replied on May 31st, 2013

Enter your comment here.

likebeastlikebeast replied on November 18th, 2012

many thanks, steve, great series!

dhyanashadhyanasha replied on October 11th, 2012

Thanks Steve, your sunny presence warms me, and these stories where like sitting around the campfire. Shashi

sl380sl380 replied on October 4th, 2012

Thanks Steve! I'm just getting back into guitar after a long time (I took lessons for a few years about 25 years ago!) and your lessons really helped fill in the blanks. This was the perfect way to get back into it. You are a great teacher and I'm glad I found this site and your lessons. --Dave

maxplumbermaxplumber replied on September 29th, 2012

WOW THANKS just finished the first lesson. I have been playing for 4 month you Mr. Eulberg make learning fun. I am very happy that Jam Play was recomended to me

adriftadrift replied on March 12th, 2012

Great series of lessons! I've had 3 maybe 4 other instructors over the past 25yrs,and all I had to show for it was a couple of strums, chord progressions and frustration. I had not even opened my guitar case in 5 years when I stumbled on to JamPlay last December. I've had so many "ah ha" moments since December,it almost makes me dizzy thinking about it. Imagine a well thought out lesson plan with lessons the build on each-other, you ought to be and I'm sure you do feel proud of your lessons at JamPlay. Thanks again and I feel these lessons have given me the foundation to go where I want to with the guitar.

CraigMR76CraigMR76 replied on March 5th, 2012

Great stuff Steve! If only I had professors like you in University! :)

hansghansg replied on January 3rd, 2012

just want to add what all others say, thanks, this was great. I teach a lot, and do a lot of sports, and this is among the best stuff I have seen. For me, this was THE way I got into the guitar, onto lower intermediate level.

jonnyhmdjonnyhmd replied on September 2nd, 2011

Excellent series Steve, Many Thanks, i really did understand you, you put things across perfectly! Circle of fifths ???? This was the only thing i struggled on (still wondering why i need to know this) anyway thanks again.

jet3rryjet3rry replied on July 31st, 2010

Many thanks, Steve! These lessons have really helped me play and, more importantly, enjoy my playing - thanks! Still working on the barre chords, but I trust these will become easier with practice.

yellowkidyellowkid replied on November 18th, 2010

Thanks Steve, good job. I can't play the barre chords, and the theory is still really fuzzy, but I ordered the book you mentioned ad will keep working on the barre chords. I can do some fingerpicking and all of the open major, minor, and 7th chord, albeit I can't get to a few quickly. Anyhow, I am going to move on and see how it goes. I understand you will be here if I need to go back :-)

bcorrbcorr replied on July 26th, 2010

Hi Steve. I just wanted to say thank you! You truly are a great teacher. I'm teach too (glassblowing), and I've come to really respect you as a teacher. I had been trying to learn mandolin mostly on my own for a few years after a lifetime of only listening to music. I found it difficult, frustrating and slow. You have helped me to establish a really solid foundation with my guitar playing, and I'm so excited for what's to come. Many, many thanks, Brian

alamosgalalamosgal replied on May 26th, 2010

Mil gracias, Steve, for an excellent series. I learned a lot from your clear presentations and inviting manner in the teaching-learning process. You have helped me become much better acquainted with my entire fretboard (hello, guitar!) by giving me tips and suggestions for learning ("say it and play it", learn the next door neighbor note names such as when playing barre chords at fret 8 on strings 5 and 6, and easy ways to transition from one note to another such as by adding a pinky to an already shaped chord on the guitar). I'm not exactly new to guitar, playing now for two years. But I still wonder how I will progress from the beginning intermediate level. Yes, I know, practice, practice. Maybe JamPlay would consider another series for the next step. I will be checking out other JamPlay basic series lessons and moving on to genre (see you in bluegrass!), but would also love to find an intermediate level instructional series for continued practice and learning. Once again, thanks for your inspired teaching and playing.

lgpurdielgpurdie replied on May 16th, 2010

I want to thank you for being a good teacher and I have learned a lot from your courses. I finally found out at the end of the last lesson how to use the Progress Bar. Basically I think that I'm ready to move on and feel that I could explain to another beginner what I have learned. I know that I should learn one song and be able to play it without the music. I will continue to work on that. I have all the information sheets for each lesson and will continue to refer to them. Now I need to decide on what I need to go to now. Thanks for being someone that I was able to understand. I like the Jamplay because I was able to go at my own pace and take the time I needed for each lesson. Thanks again for your good teaching.

llumppllumpp replied on April 28th, 2010

Steve, I have really learned a lot from your lessons, Thank You. Your easy and sincere way of teaching also made taking the lesson enjoyable.

mazzystarlettemazzystarlette replied on December 13th, 2009

Thanks again for another great lesson. I have determined what I need to work on from your lessons and I plan to view other instructors lessons as well. thanks again

rockingchicagorockingchicago replied on December 7th, 2009

thank you steve...i was already in phase 2 and like u said i had to come back down to the beginning to figure some stuff out that at first i didnt get and now i am moving on to phase 2 knowing the principles

bizbolbizbol replied on November 19th, 2009

Steve, thank you very much! Your lessons have served me very well. Your approach to teaching is one that should serve as an example for many a teacher.

David.WallimannDavid.Wallimann replied on November 3rd, 2009

I am enjoying your lessons a lot Steve, they are very easy to follow and inspirational no matter how long you've been playing. Keep up the great work!

alpha2deltaalpha2delta replied on October 14th, 2009

Hello Steve I have just completed all 19 lessons of your excellent course. I have picked up the guitar again (electric) after more than a 20-year absence. Love your teaching style, very good value in lessons. Two minor comments. One, I find playing open G chord with fingers 2,3 and 4 really helps with making quick chord changes. Two, your explanation of different rythym patterns might have been helped by a diagram with up and down arrows. Many thanks for a job very well done!!

blancablanca replied on August 8th, 2009

The volume seems too Low. Sometimes, I can't hear well.

jnc51jnc51 replied on June 28th, 2009

Steve, you beginner series was the best in my opinion. Very detailed and precise yet easy to understand. I'm going to move on the Phase II but will be back periodically.

blueguitar420blueguitar420 replied on June 3rd, 2009

you the man steve you the man

dclaydclay replied on April 28th, 2009

Steve, your ability to take complex concepts and present them in enjoyable and easily comprehended lessons is truly a gift. I would love to see you do an advanced beginner or intermediate series. Thank you for sharing your knowlege, experience and wisdom. Your passion for music and for teaching shines thru and is contagious!!

buffy136buffy136 replied on April 6th, 2009

I have no highspeed internet it takes about 1 hour to load 1 scene on the low quality..Once I did not see the setting was on HIGH quality 6hrs to load that one.LO LO but I waited cause I knew something good was coming..Love all your courses ..worth the time effort and money..there should be more people like you in this world...MERCI BEAUCOUP

mxcaggmxcagg replied on April 1st, 2009

Steve, I am about to celebrate (yes, Celebrate!) my 1st anniversary of learning to play guitar (at age 42). I started last April with this series and I just want to thank you very, very much. You are an excellent teacher! My friends who have been playing forever, tell me that I have improved a great deal. When they ask my how I learned, I tell them my teacher was Steve Eulber at jamply. Thank you again.

zammo22zammo22 replied on March 31st, 2009

Thanks Steve. This has been very well presented and paced. I think I'll see you in Bluegrass - Stage 2.

rangelyderekrangelyderek replied on February 16th, 2009

Love Ya Man! I'm sure I will be back to get what I missed. But, as a beginning, I'm sure this did me just fine! Just fine indeede!

jndaiglejndaigle replied on February 15th, 2009

Steve, like some others here I have been playing the guitar a long time, even played in some bands and do a fair amount of solo performing. But, I have really learned a lot by doing this beginner series. My bar chords have improved dramatically, and I can even do a clean B7 in the first position, which I thought I would never be able to get. Thanks a lot for putting together a superb beginner course. I think I am ready to move on, but I'll be back if I need some more beginner stuff.

floorshakerfloorshaker replied on January 4th, 2009

Hi Steve. Is Zen Guitar the one by Philip Toshio Sudo? Will give it a read. Never really got my head around Zen And The Art of Motorcycle Maintenance but will give this a read and see . . .

steveeulbergsteveeulberg replied on February 11th, 2009

Hi, yep, that's the one. I couldn't get into the motorcycle maintenance one, either. Never had a cycle! Steve

rangelyderekrangelyderek replied on January 24th, 2009

Steve, I am very impressed with your style of teaching! You really bring it all together! Excellent!

genestephensgenestephens replied on January 12th, 2009

Hey Steve, I've been playing for 30 years but have never learned the basics. This has helped alot. Thanks for the friendly, eaasy, manner in the way you teach.

swissplusswissplus replied on January 7th, 2009

Hey Steve, What were the two books that you mentioned in this video that complimented each other to develop a better understanding of each other?

jackie134jackie134 replied on January 6th, 2009

Hi Steve Thanks for a great series of lessons. I will definitely take on your advice. You are a wonderful teacher and I feel so lucky to have found Jamplay.com Happy New Year and although there is much gloom around at the moment - I hope you have a happy and joyous 2009!

will315will315 replied on January 2nd, 2009

I think my problem is that I am always tyring to climb that mountain without rest, but good video. Thanks Steve

OldCrowOldCrow replied on January 2nd, 2009

well done, steve...very well done. I am grateful. OC

tomorrowtomorrow replied on January 2nd, 2009

good chat ,you like the word infusion rather than osmosis ! however development occurs it just sneaks up on me,I get the I didn't know I knew that moment often enough to be encouraged thanks

Basic Guitar with Steve Eulberg

Found in our Beginner Lesson Sets

Phase 1 Acoustic Lessons with Steve Eulberg is a great place to begin your journey as a guitarist. With over 30 years of playing experience, Steve appreciates the importance of beginning your guitar training the correct way - no bad habits! These lessons are not just for acoustic players. Electric guitarists will receive the same benefits from this lesson series.



Lesson 1

The Absolute Basics

You will learn the parts of the guitar and how they function. Steve also discusses the importance of technique.

Length: 45:09 Difficulty: 0.5 Members Only
Lesson 2

Your First Chords

Three simple chords will literally enable you to play millions of songs. In this lesson, you will learn the primary chords for the key of G.

Length: 40:00 Difficulty: 1.0 Members Only
Lesson 3

Strumming Technique

Now that Steve has taught some chords, he will go over the proper methods of strumming and right hand technique.

Length: 42:00 Difficulty: 2.0 Members Only
Lesson 4

All About Chords

This lesson is all about the various aspects of chords.

Length: 39:00 Difficulty: 2.0 Members Only
Lesson 5

Chord Theory

Steve explains how basic triads are formed in this lesson. He also explains the relationship between scales and chords.

Length: 40:12 Difficulty: 2.0 Members Only
Lesson 6

Intro to Fingerpicking

Steve Eulberg introduces you to the wonderful world of fingerpicking.

Length: 51:00 Difficulty: 3.0 Members Only
Lesson 7

Bringing it Together

Steve starts to weave the strings of the past lessons together.

Length: 47:00 Difficulty: 2.5 Members Only
Lesson 8

Chords, Keys and Relationships

This episode delves further in the realm of chords, scales, keys and the relationships between them. You will also learn some new chords.

Length: 34:25 Difficulty: 3.0 Members Only
Lesson 9

Barre Chords

This lesson covers power chords and barre chords. You will learn how these chords are formed and how to apply them.

Length: 38:24 Difficulty: 3.0 Members Only
Lesson 10

Tools for Guitar

Steve explains how basic tools such as the metronome, capo, and picks aid your guitar playing. Enjoy!

Length: 27:12 Difficulty: 1.0 Members Only
Lesson 11

Playing Lead and Scales

This lesson gets you into the basics of playing melodies on the guitar. Playing melodies and solos is often referred to as "lead guitar."

Length: 45:00 Difficulty: 2.5 Members Only
Lesson 12

Hand Stretches

Steve demonstrates some great stretches for the hands, wrists and upper arms.

Length: 8:12 Difficulty: 0.5 Members Only
Lesson 13

Different Guitars

Steve discusses the difference between the steel string acoustic, classical, and 12 string guitars.

Length: 12:00 Difficulty: 0.5 Members Only
Lesson 14

Changing Guitar Strings

This lesson is all about changing guitar strings. This process can be very frustrating, but it doesn't have to be. Learn some great tips from Steve.

Length: 37:00 Difficulty: 0.5 Members Only
Lesson 15

Timing and Tempo

Steve Eulberg delves into the wonderful world of rhythm and time signatures.

Length: 29:00 Difficulty: 2.5 Members Only
Lesson 16

Circle of Fifths

Steve Eulberg introduces the Circle of Fifths. He demonstrates a song that features a Circle of Fifths progression.

Length: 15:30 Difficulty: 2.5 Members Only
Lesson 17

Clearing Up Confusion

In this lesson Steve attempts to clear up some confusion with previous lessons. He will talk about reading tablature, note names, chord names and more.

Length: 15:52 Difficulty: 2.0 Members Only
Lesson 18

Review and Moving On

Steve Eulberg does a quick review of this lesson series and talks about moving on.

Length: 12:44 Difficulty: 2.0 Members Only
Lesson 19

Completing Lessons

Steve answers the popular question, "When should I move on to the next lesson?" by sharing his personal goals and some important advice.

Length: 6:19 Difficulty: 2.0 Members Only

About Steve Eulberg View Full Biography An Award-winning multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter, Steve Eulberg weaves mountain and hammered dulcimers with a variety of unusual instruments to create thought-provoking, smile-inducing, toe-tapping acoustic experiences.

He has sung and composed for religious communities, union halls, picket lines, inter-faith retreats, mountain-top youth camps, as well as the more familiar venues: clubs, coffeehouses, bookstores, festivals, charity benefits and showcase concerts.

Born and raised in the German-heritage town of Pemberville, Ohio, Steve was exposed to a variety of music in his home. Early piano lessons were followed by trumpet in school band, and he became self-taught on ukelele and guitar and harmonica. Mandolin was added at Capital University where, while majoring in History, he studied Ear Training, Voice and took Arranging lessons from the Conservatory of Music.

While at college, he first heard hammered and mountain dulcimers, building his first mountain dulcimer just before his final year. Seminary training took him the west side of Denver where he built his first hammered dulcimer. With these instruments, he was able to give voice to the Scottish, English and Irish traditions to which he is also heir.

Following marriage in 1985 to Connie Winter-Eulberg he settled in Kansas City, Missouri. There he worked cross-culturally in a church of African-Americans, Latinos and European Americans, with music being a primary organizing tool. He moved with his family in 1997 to be nestled beside the Rocky Mountains in Fort Coillins, Colorado.

Founder of Owl Mountain Music, Inc. he teaches and performs extensively in Colorado and Wyoming with tours across the US and the UK. He delights in introducing the “sweet music” of dulcimers to people in diverse settings and in addition to his own recordings, has included dulcimers in a variety of session work for other musicians.

In 2000 he was commissioned to create a choral composition featuring dulcimers for the Rainbow Chorus in Fort Collins. It was recorded in the same year (BEGINNINGS). He is currently at work on a commissioned symphony that will feature hammered dulcimer and Australian didjeridu.

Eulberg passionately believes that music crosses cultural and language barriers because music builds community. Influenced by a variety of ethnic styles, his music weaves vital lyric with rap, rock, folk, gospel and blues. Audiences of all ages respond well to his presentation and to his warm sense of humor.

Steve is a member of Local 1000 (AFM), The Folk Alliance, BMI and BWAAG (Better World Artists and Activist's Guild).

Acoustic Guitar Lessons

Our acoustic guitar lessons are taught by qualified instructors with various backgrounds with the instrument.


Mitch Reed Mitch Reed

Mitch teaches his interpretation of the classic "Cannonball Rag." This song provides beginning and intermediate guitarists...

Free LessonSeries Details
Steve Eulberg Steve Eulberg

Steve Eulberg does a quick review of this lesson series and talks about moving on.

Free LessonSeries Details
Dave Yauk Dave Yauk

Learn a simple mini song that illustrates just how intertwined scales and chords really are. Dave uses a G chord paired...

Free LessonSeries Details
Eve Goldberg Eve Goldberg

Eve talks about the boom-chuck strum pattern. This strum pattern will completely change the sound of your playing.

Free LessonSeries Details
David Isaacs David Isaacs

JamPlay welcomes David Isaacs to our teacher roster. With his first lesson Dave explains his approach to playing guitar with...

Free LessonSeries Details
Don Ross Don Ross

New fingerstyle instructor Don Ross introduces himself, his background, and what you should expect in this series.

Free LessonSeries Details
Erik Mongrain Erik Mongrain

Erik expounds on the many possibilities of open tunings and the new harmonics that you can use in them. He explains what...

Free LessonSeries Details
Kaki King Kaki King

In lesson 6, Kaki discusses how the left and right hands can work together or independently of each other to create different...

Free LessonSeries Details
Freebo Freebo

In this lesson, Freebo covers the basics of right hand technique. This lesson is essential for all up and coming bassists.

Free LessonSeries Details

Electric Guitar Lesson Samples

Our electric guitar lessons are taught by instructors with an incredible amount of teaching experience.


Prashant Aswani Prashant Aswani

Do you want to play more musical sounding solos? Do you want to play solos with more emotion behind them? Maybe you're the...

Free LessonSeries Details
James Malone James Malone

James explains how to tap arpeggios for extended musical reach.

Free LessonSeries Details
Rex Brown Rex Brown

Dive into the playing of Rex Brown. As the bass player for Pantera, Down, and Kill Devil Hill, Brown's real world experience...

Free LessonSeries Details
Mark Brennan Mark Brennan

Mark Brennan teaches this classic rock song by Jethro Tull. Released on the album of the same name in 1971, this song features...

Free LessonSeries Details
Ian Argys Ian Argys

Lesson 6 is all about the major mode. As with the other lessons you'll be taking a look at the individual notes on the strings...

Free LessonSeries Details
Joel Kosche Joel Kosche

Joel Kosche talks about creating and composing a guitar solo. He uses his original song "Sunrise" as an example.

Free LessonSeries Details
Daniel Gilbert Daniel Gilbert

Known around the world for his inspirational approach to guitar instruction, Musician's Institute veteran Daniel Gilbert...

Free LessonSeries Details
Braun Khan Braun Khan

In this lesson, Braun teaches the chord types that are commonly used in jazz harmony. Learn how to build the chords and their...

Free LessonSeries Details
Dave Weiner Dave Weiner

Dave "David J" Weiner returns with a lesson on how to play with style and attitude. He covers all the basic techniques you'll...

Free LessonSeries Details
Brent Mason Brent Mason

Learn Nashville style country guitar from one of the most recorded guitarists in history. Check out rhythm grooves, solos,...

Free LessonSeries Details




Join over 455931 guitarists who have learned how to play in weeks... not years!

Signup today to enjoy access to our entire database of video lessons, along with our exclusive set of learning tools and features.



Unlimited Lesson Viewing

A JamPlay membership gives you access to every lesson, from every teacher on our staff. Additionally, there is no restriction on how many times you watch a lesson. Watch as many times as you need.

Live Lessons

Exclusive only to JamPlay, we currently broadcast 8-10 hours of steaming lesson services directly to you! Enjoy the benefits of in-person instructors and the conveniences of our community.

Interactive Community

Create your own profile, manage your friends list, and contact users with your own JamPlay Mailbox. JamPlay also features live chat with teachers and members, and an active Forum.

Chord Library

Each chord in our library contains a full chart, related tablature, and a photograph of how the chord is played. A comprehensive learning resource for any guitarist.

Scale Library

Our software allows you to document your progress for any lesson, including notes and percent of the lesson completed. This gives you the ability to document what you need to work on, and where you left off.

Custom Chord Sheets

At JamPlay, not only can you reference our Chord Library, but you can also select any variety of chords you need to work on, and generate your own printable chord sheet.

Backing Tracks

Jam-along backing tracks give the guitarist a platform for improvising and soloing. Our backing tracks provide a wide variety of tracks from different genres of music, and serves as a great learning tool.

Interactive Games

We have teachers covering beginner lessons, rock, classic rock, jazz, bluegrass, fingerstyle, slack key and more. Learn how to play the guitar from experienced players, in a casual environment.

Beginners Welcome.. and Up

Unlike a lot of guitar websites and DVDs, we start our Beginner Lessons at the VERY start of the learning process, as if you just picked up a guitar for the first time.Our teaching is structured for all players.

Take a minute to compare JamPlay to other traditional and new methods of learning guitar. Our estimates for "In-Person" lessons below are based on a weekly face-to-face lesson for $40 per hour.

Price Per Lesson < $0.01 $4 - $5 $30 - $50 Free
Money Back Guarantee Sometimes n/a
Number of Instructors 82 1 – 3 1 Zillions
Interaction with Instructors Daily Webcam Sessions Weekly
Professional Instructors Luck of the Draw Luck of the Draw
New Lessons Daily Weekly Minutely
Structured Lessons
Learn Any Style Sorta
Track Progress
HD Video - Sometimes
Multiple Camera Angles Sometimes - Sometimes
Accurate Tabs Maybe Maybe
Scale/Chord Libraries
Custom JamTracks
Interactive Games
Community
Learn in Sweatpants Socially Unacceptable
Gasoline Needed $0.00 $0.00 ~$4 / gallon! $0.00

Mike H.

"I feel like a 12 year old kid with a new guitar!"
 

I am 66 years young and I still got it! I would have never known this if it had not been for Jamplay! I feel like a 12 year old kid with a new guitar! Ha! I cannot express enough how great you're website is! It is for beginners and advanced pickers! I am an advanced picker and thought I had lost it but thanks to you all, I found it again! Even though I only play by ear, I have been a member a whopping whole two weeks now and have already got Brent's country shuffle and country blues down and of course with embellishments. Thank you all for your wonderful program!


Greg J.

"With Jamplay I can fit in a random session when I have time and I can go at my own pace"
 

I'm a fifty eight year old newbie who owns a guitar which has been sitting untouched in a corner for about seven years now. Last weekend I got inspired to pick it up and finally learn how to play after watching an amazing Spanish guitarist on TV. So, here I am. I'm starting at the beginning with Steve Eulberg and I couldn't be happier (except for the sore fingers :) Some day I'm going to play like Steve! I'm self employed with a hectic schedule. With Jamplay I can fit in a random session when I have time and I can go at my own pace, rewinding and replaying the videos until I get it. This is a very enjoyable diversion from my work yet I still feel like I'm accomplishing something worthwhile. Thanks a lot, Greg


Bill

"I believe this is the absolute best site for guitar students."
 

I am commenting here to tell you and everyone at JamPlay that I believe this is the absolute best site for guitar students. I truly enjoy learning to play the guitar on JamPlay.com. Yes, I said the words, ""enjoy learning."" It is by far the best deal for the money.



Join thousands of others that LIKE JamPlay!